Welcome to the Real Estate Forum


The "ORIGINAL" Real Estate Social Network" SINCE 2005 and your #1 Resource for all things Real Estate


  •  »Over 35,000 Members
  •  » Answer Questions From "REAL" Buyers & Sellers
  •  »Ask Questions & Share Stories With Fellow Real Estate Professionals.
  •  »Read Articles & Blogs written by Real Estate Professionals.

...you have come to the right place!


YES! I want to register an account for free right now!


p.s.: For registered members YOUR FORUM NAME is free of ads

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    RobM is offline Condominium
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Apollo Beach, FL
    Posts
    340

    Default Legality of Stealing domain name in YouTube

    Ok, I just came across this one. Lets say that you have a listing and you do a video and post it on youtube. Fine so far. Now lets say that in the description you go thru the top 10 googled websites for a particular local real estate search and you basically steal all the information from those sites and put all that info in the description of your youtube video post. So for example, in the description it says really nothing about the property but has listed the website address of the websites in the google search, the agents names of those sites, etc. How would you take that and what would you do and what can be done.

    Let me know your thoughts

    rob
    Last edited by RobM; 02-25-2008 at 05:43 PM.
    Tampa Real Estate | Tampa Foreclosures | Tampa Real Estate Blog | Brandon Real Estate
    Team Masse services the Tampa Real Estate market and: Tampa, Apollo Beach, Riverview, Ruskin, Brandon, Lithia, Valrico, Gibsonton, South Tampa, and Channelside District, Hillsborough, Sarasota, Manatee, and Pinellas County. Referals are welcomed and given. For more information on Tampa Real Estate, please contact us direct or visit the websites above.

    Join my Techie Realtor Group on Facebook

  2. #2
    tsteuwer is offline Fixer Upper
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Panama City Beach, FL
    Posts
    22

    Default

    I'm a little confused.

    Are you saying someone stole your information, put it in their YouTube description, and typed the URL to your website and name?

    If your page is copy written, I would first ask the person to remove it from their description. If they do not comply, I would then contact YouTube for copy write infringement, or, there should be a button on the videos page where you can report copy write infringement.

  3. #3
    RobM is offline Condominium
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Apollo Beach, FL
    Posts
    340

    Default

    I knew this maybe hard to explain. Some of my data is in the description but more of another persons that I will not name.
    Here is the example of what happened.
    Say my site description is: Steve Smith, Contact me at Stevesmith.com about Homes in the Florida or visit me on my other site at www.floridaforyou.com...and so on. This info was then copied word for word in the details of the video. In fact, he has the same info in all his videos, exactly the same. His description is like a mile long.

    Again, my name is not in his description, but I have left an email to the people that are in the description...I just cant believe that a scumbag could or would do such a thing. Then to top things off, I check out his website and he pulls this crap with a ton of keywords in the same color as his background except he doesnt quite match the color so I can see them anyway which is why he isnt in the google index.

    It will be interesting to see how this is handled
    I hope this describes it better
    Tampa Real Estate | Tampa Foreclosures | Tampa Real Estate Blog | Brandon Real Estate
    Team Masse services the Tampa Real Estate market and: Tampa, Apollo Beach, Riverview, Ruskin, Brandon, Lithia, Valrico, Gibsonton, South Tampa, and Channelside District, Hillsborough, Sarasota, Manatee, and Pinellas County. Referals are welcomed and given. For more information on Tampa Real Estate, please contact us direct or visit the websites above.

    Join my Techie Realtor Group on Facebook

  4. #4
    tsteuwer is offline Fixer Upper
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Panama City Beach, FL
    Posts
    22

    Default

    If your site is copy written, I would acknowledge this in an e-mail to him asking him to remove it. If you could get all the agents to do this, I'm sure he would remove it.

    Other than that, I would contact YouTube.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •